Grandpa

I heard this week that my grandpa is on his way out. I lived with him for 14 years. All three of my kids were born while we lived in his basement. We went to the same ward, my kids had baths in his bathroom, he let me have half the garden. He’s old, and he has lived longer than he expected. I’m pretty sure he believes he will be reunited with my grandma. If nothing else, I’m glad for his belief, I’m glad that he has that comfort.

Loud may the sound of hope ring till all doubt departs.

~ by woundedhart on March 6, 2008.

4 Responses to “Grandpa”

  1. It is always sad to lose a loved one. You must be close to your grandparents. Has it been long since your grandmother passed away?

    In my younger years, my main interaction with my grandparents was a yearly visit since we didn’t live nearby. When they did pass it away, it was hard, but at the same time, I knew that they had lived good, long lives, and they were ready to go.

    You must enjoy music- I like how you reference hymns and hope that they do bring you some solace.

  2. I was close to Grandpa. My Grandma died when I was 15, but I lived in Grandpa’s basement all through college and while my husband got his degrees as well. It was as you described the death of your grandparents, in that I knew he had lived a good, long life. He was 91. He died last week, a few days after I wrote the post, surrounded by all 4 of his kids, as well as 4 of his grandsons.

    I referenced the hymn because Grandpa wrote that particular hymn, so it has special meaning to me, because I know how fervently he believed in those words. It is one of the only things I hold onto.

  3. I’m sorry to hear of your grandfather’s passing. As a coworker and I discussed a few weeks ago when his mother passed away, you know the day will come, but it is still difficult to lose a loved one. What a blessing that his children and other family were there. At 91, I’m sure he had a very full life, and now he is free from the body that could no longer keep up with his spirit.

    I love that hymn. What a wonderful man he must be. I’m glad that you have that to hold onto.

  4. My heart goes out to you. May God bless your family.

Leave a Reply

 
