Not a cheesy Beatles song title

I desperately want someone to talk to. I need someone who doesn’t care a speck what decisions I make, what I believe, what I don’t believe. I need someone who can understand that pain doesn’t always have to be a means to an end, or a part of a journey. Sometimes it’s just pain, and sometimes nothing will take it away.

I have no one who isn’t emotionally invested in the outcome of my decisions, what ever they are. I have people of both sides, some cheer for this decision, some cheer for that one, the opposite of the first. How can there even be a right or wrong, when all the people I love have a different idea of them?

I desperately want someone to hear my complaints, without judging me, or trying to convince me of anything. I desperately want to be able to listen to someone without having to change my mind about something, or act in some way.

~ by woundedhart on April 29, 2008.

7 Responses to “Not a cheesy Beatles song title”

  1. that’s what blogs are for, right? 🙂

  2. You’ve got some listeners out here!

  3. Hey Jana and Deborah. Yeah, I hope that’s what blogs are for, I just don’t know if I can spill it all, everything I need to work out. I have done mildly controversial posts on my other blog, and been yelled at for my POV. I know I sound crazy to some people, and “deceived” to others, but I can’t help that.

    Plus, I just love to wallow in my loneliness. I don’t actually love it, but moving to a new place sucks in so many ways. And for socially deficient people such as myself, making friends only happens when someone else puts forth the effort. And what else can I do, besides shout my complaints into the ether?

  4. Hey – just saw your blog and this post. It is a very difficult place to be in when everyone is trying to convince you of something, convince you your opinion/perspective is wrong. When you can’t trust your instincts.

    I have found personally that space in therapy talking with a professional therapist. It’s very expensive for some families and not covered by insurance by others. And I’ve been to more than a few over the years – so they vary widely in skill (like auto mechanics or piano teachers).

    But for the most part, if they’re good, they have no interest in whatever decisions you make. Just that they want to help you sort through and talk through what you’re going through (and challenge the way you perceive things, like your own emotions, not in a bad way). Sometimes they know exactly what NOT to say.

    Of course, this is my opinion, and I’m obviously trying to convince you to possibly consider psychotherapy if you haven’t already. But at least my motives aren’t hidden….

  5. I think therapy is a good idea, too. Another approach is to assemble a small team of people who support/love you no matter what your choices. Meet with the team regularly and discuss where you are and how you’re doing.

  6. womenow.org or a similar site can set you up with a “buddy” is great.

  7. God loves you no matter what and He only judges righteous judgment in then end.

Leave a Reply

 
