30 July, 1998

Manila, Philippines

Boy, do I want a family, but I’m also very afraid of that. What if I can’t handle it? What if I’m too weak, or if I think I’m too weak? If I hadn’t come on a mission, I would never have thought I was weak.

Yeah, that was definitely before I had kids. I remember saying, when I spoke in church after I got home, that my mission was the hardest thing I would ever do. That gives me the giggles, in retrospect.

~ by woundedhart on April 30, 2008.

One Response to “30 July, 1998”

  1. I’m glad to see you have posted again. You mentioned another blog that you have- I’d be interested to read that too if you don’t mind sharing it with me.

    So, you were a missionary in the Philippines- that’s great. It is funny how our perspective changes over time. Whatever your challenges are now, hopefully you will look back someday and realize that you wouldn’t have learned what you have or become what you have without the difficulties you faced and overcame.

    If you don’t mind my asking, what is the most challenging part of being a mother for you? For me, with kids that are now 10 and 13 years old, my main challenging is to try to see things from their perspective. I forget that they are children and that they don’t see things the way I do. I don’t think I’m a very fun dad.

    Today is my 17th anniversary (makes me feel old). I don’t consider myself an excellent parent or spouse, but for me, marriage requires more effort than being a parent.

Leave a Reply

 
